From the archives – Looking back on 19 seasons – Series 7

Paul Toole

Season 2020-21 marks Randwick Petersham’s 20th Anniversary. Over 19 seasons there have been an infinite number of team and individual performances. In that time 2 Club Championships and 15 Premierships have been won; most recently the Belvidere Cup. So as we head towards the 20th season we’ve dug into the archives to present some of the best memorable moments since 2001.

Series 7 of From the Archives celebrates the establishment of Sydney’s newest Grade Club in July 2001, we celebrate the 4th and 5th Grade Premierships in 2005-06 under the captaincy of David Townsend and Dean White and also 1st Grade’s Limited Over Premiership in 2011-12.

From the Archives is Proudly Brought to you by long-term sponsor Cartwright Insurance Brokers. Established by Len Cartwright in 1971, they have the interests of their clients at the forefront, offering in-depth knowledge of the Australian insurance industry and hold extensive experience in regards to the insurance needs of businesses. If you seek an insurance broker that provides: real personal service, an understanding of your needs, and value for money, then talk with Geoff or John Cartwright today via or 9387 6677

The establishment of Randwick Petersham: On the 19th July 2001 Sydney’s newest Premier Club was established. Hatched from an idea by Randwick CEO Laurie Heil and pursued to reality by Alan Wright and Wayne Mulherin, the merger brought together two of Sydney’s oldest and most famous clubs, each with a similarity in culture and 101 years of Grade cricket tradition and experience.

In formally announcing the amalgamation, the new President Michael Whitney AM stated, “While this move represents the end of an era for two of grade crickets’ great clubs, it is also the dawning of a new and exciting period for the combined club as well as for cricket in the whole Randwick Petersham area.” 

The Club first took the field in NSW Premier Cricket on the 29th September 2001 against local rivals University of NSW.

 2 Premiers in 2005-06: David Townsend skipper of 4s and Dean White skipper of 5s led their respective chargers to the titles to give the Randy Petes 5 Premiers in the Club’s first 5 seasons.

Defending 163 at Coogee Oval, with Darren McCoy (44) top scoring, 4th Grade made the running towards the end of the day with the ball to leave Fairfield-Liverpool 6-80 at stumps. Day 2 combined elation and pressure as the bowlers toiled hard with Matt Wallis the hero with 5-40. The word from Towno was to bat, bat and bat but at 5-42 the hearts were pumping but the cool heads of Marc Anderson (37) and McCoy (14*) got the 4s to the eventual close and the Reid Cup was won.

5th Grade won their last 10 matches straight to reach the Grand Final against Fairfield-Liverpool (a replay of the QF). Batting first the 5s lads batted through the day to reach stumps 9-236 courtesy of Matt Hilder’s 54 and the skipper’s 44. The following day Steve Bright and Andrew Redman batted for another 11 valuable overs before the latter was dismissed to leave 260 to defend.

The opposition skipper came out blazing before falling at 26. A one-handed run out from Jake Berry 10 runs later halted the momentum and with all the bowler’s chipping in the Lions were dismissed for 221.

With 2 Premierships in the cabinet there were indeed strong celebrations long into the night.

First Grade 2 from 2 in 2011-12: Following their win in the T20 Grand Final earlier in the year 1st Grade went into the Limited Overs Final v Fairfield-Liverpool at Coogee with great confidence.

With Scott Coyte on State duties Nathan Price skippered the side and won the toss. Early wickets fell to Jake Wilson and Burt Cockley (3-39) before the Lions regrouped with a 55 run partnership. Adam Semple claimed 2 quick wickets before they regrouped. At 6-150 Nick Stapleton (3-24) entered the attack and claimed a resounding hat-trick to close out the innings in the final over leaving 171 for victory.

The chase got off to a flyer courtesy of a quickfire Damian Wall 23. A couple of wickets fell to see the side wobble at 3-56. Man of the Match Adam Coyte (55) and Nathan Hauritz (29) provided steady heads to get the team back on track. At 5-152 (37.2 overs) bad light halted play and soon after the heavens opened. Under Duckworth-Lewis the Randy Petes were declared Premiers.

Click here for scorecard