Randwick Petersham Poidevin-Gray Final Preview vs Parramatta


Parramatta DCC v Randwick Petersham CC
Old Kings Oval, Paramatta Park
10 am THIS SUNDAY 5 March 2023

This is the Big One! The Grand Final. It is our first time in the Grand Final in this competition. The best we have finished in our 22 years is 4th in 2004-05. It is a HUGE occasion for the club and we want as many of you there as possible to hopefully witness history in the making.

And while our founding clubs took out the competition 12 times between them, the last time the old Petersham-Marrickville club won was in 1972-73––51 years ago––while Randwick has to go back 56 years to 1967-68.

Parramatta on the other hand are recent winners. They were joint premiers with Gordon in 2020-21 while they also took out the title in 1982-83, 2012-13 and 2016-17. Now it’s our turn. Our team is a cracker and if keenness, talent and enthusiasm count for anything, we’ll bolt in!

What is interesting about this match is that both teams only finished in third place on the points ladder in their respective divisions this season. Both then defeated the minor premiers of those divisions and now meet for major honours.

Apart from all our supporters, what we would particularly like to see, is attendance from any former cricketer who played Poidevin-Gray Shield with either Petersham-Marrickville or Randwick at any time. If you know of any such player, please get them to come to Old Kings on Sunday. What a great occasion that will be if we can get a gathering of former players.

Our Investment Collective Poidevin-Gray Shield squad is:

  • Ben Mitchell ( c )

  • Blake Weymouth

  • Max Robinson

  • Zak Keogh

  • Tim Tector

  • Angus McTaggart

  • Ben Tracey

  • Mahsen Narvel

  • Shivansh Pathak

  • Connor O’Riordan

  • Zac Maron

  • Dave Dubey

  • Dane Coombs

Coaches: Michael Haire, Eddie Otto, Ben Montedoro

Go the Randy Petes!!

Lyall Gardner

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.